Formerly Head of Medicine and Dean, PGIMER, Dr. RML Hospital New Delhi, Past Chairmen ICP, Past President of API, and IACM. Hony editor JIACM, Editor API Text book of Medicine (9th

  • Email


  • Phone


  • Time


Designation Professor & Head of Department, General Medicine
Education and fellowships
  • M.B.B.S , SNM ,Agra University,1973
  • M.D.(Medicine), Agra University,1975
  • FICP- (Fellow Indian College of Physicians)
  • FIAMS-(Fellow IMA Academy of Medical Specialties)
  • FIACM-(Fellow Indian Association of Clinical Medicine)
  • FIMSA-(Fellow International Medical Sciences Academy)
  • FFGSI-(Fellow Geriatric Society of India)
  • MAMS-(Member National Academy of Medical Sciences)
  • FRCP-(Fellow of Royal College of Physicians(Edinburgh)
  • FACP-(Fellow of American College of Physician (Direct Invited Fellow from 1st July 2009)
Awards & Honors
Year Title of Award Awarding Body
1993 FICP Indian College of Physicians(API)
1994 FIAMS IMA Academy of Medical Specialties
1994 FIACM Indian Association of Clinical Medicine
1996 FIMSA International Medical Sciences Academy
1998 FFGSI Geriatic Society of India
1999 MAMS National Academy of Medical Sciences (India)
2006 FRCP Fellow of Royal College of Physician
2009 FACP Fellow of American College of Physicians Invited Fellow from 1st July 2009

Medals & Trophies

  • Dr. B.C Pant Gold Medal for obtaining highest marks in Medicine (MBBS University Exam,) 1971-72
  • Shri Dau Dayal Khanna SILVER JUBILEE TROPHY to the best student of the year 1971.
  • Agra Rotary club GOLD MEDAL for being best student of MBBS 1971.
  • Dr. Prem Nath Wahi GOLD MEDAL for highest marks in Pathology (in MBBS University Exam.)1970.
  • MERIT SCHOLARSHIP during the session 1970-71 and 1971-72.
    CERTIFICATE OF HONOUR in Medicine at final Professional MBBS (Agra University 1971.)
  • Laxmi Ram Pandey SILVER MEDAL for standing Ist in Medicine in the final professional MBBS Exam.1971.
  • SILVER Medal for general proficiency in 2nd Professional part I University exam. December.1969
  • MERIT MEDICAL and Certificate of honor for distinction and highest marks in Forensic Medicine.
  • SILVER MEDAL for general proficiency in 2nd Professional part II University exam.1970.
  • CERTIFICATE OF HONOR for standing Ist in Pathology 1970.
    Book prize for standing Ist in Pathology.
  • SILVER MEDAL for organization of Prof. Y. SubbaRow Memorial symposium on nutrition, biotechnology, health and disease, New Delhi, March 1994.
  • A Trophy for convening and coordinating a successful CME programme – Medicine update 94 on Dec. 10 and 11,1994 at New Delhi (by API,DSC)
  • SILVER TROPHY for excellent organization of Annual Conference and other scientific meeting of API (DSC) 1995-96.
  • Dr. JC Patel- Dr. BC Mehta JAPI Award 2008 (Best Original article)
  • Agarwal AK, Gupta PK, Singla S et al carotid intimomedial thickness in type 2 diabetic patients and its correlation with coronary risk factors, j Assoc Physicians India 2008; 56(08):581-6.
  • Distinguished Member Award for Life Time Contribution to API (2014)
  • Awarded numerous   Gold & Silver Medals for Curricular activities during professional career
Previous experience
  • Chief Consultant, HOD Medicine, Dean, PGIMER, Dr. RML Hospital New Delhi
  • Senior Consultant –Internal Medicine , Advisor Clinical & Academic affairs , BLK Super Specialty Hospital New Delhi
  •  Chairmen Scientific Committee: APICON- 2009
  • Chairmen Scientific Committee: IACMCON -2006
  • Convener Organizing Committee: APICON- 2001
Areas of Interest Genuine all round Internist  
Medical Services/procedure being performed at Sharda by you Out Patient , In Patient, Super specialty Clinics, and Emergency Services ,                                    
Professional Memberships   MAMS, FRCP, FACP, FICP, FIACM, FIMSA, FIAMS, FGSI
Languages spoken English, Hindi
Research and Publications (If any)
  • Journals:   75     (Including 3 international)
  • Chapters in Books:50
  • Misc: 16
  • Research Experience: Chief Guide-12 MD Thesis, Co-guide : 10
Presentations/Case studies National & Regional Conferences: 20
Departmental CME Chairmen Organizing & Scientific Committee: CME in Internal Medicine at SMS&R, Sharda University Greater Noida (08.09.2013)